Laura’s Artist Statement*

Through my work I attempt to examine the phenomenon of Garfield as a methaphorical interpretation of both Matisse and shoe-making.

What began as a personal journey of freaking-ism has translated into images of cheese and arms that resonate with Mexican people to question their own Redness.

My mixed media ‘House’ collection embodies an idiosyncratic view of Jesus, yet the familiar imagery allows for a connection between George Orwell, boats and oranges.

My work is in the private collection of a doctor who said ‘damn it!!, that’s some real gorgeous Art.’

I am a recipient of a grant from Folsom Prison where I served time for stealing mugs and tie clips from the gift shop of El Museo de la Imagen. I have exhibited in group shows at Burger King and L’Elysée, though not at the same time. I currently spend my time between my computer room and Berlin.

*Automatically generated by http://10gallon.com/statement2000/

Leave a Reply

