A Literary Journey – a resolution for 2011

I buy books compulsively. I can’t enter a bookstore without buying 3-4 books. As a result, I have many books I’ve started reading and left after a few chapters when a new one comes my way. I have many other books I have the intention to read. And yes, I have many books that are still wrapped in their original cellophane packaging. Sigh. Such is the life of a compulsive book buyer.

While trying to organize my books, I found this little exercise from the The Lonely Planet Guide to Experimental Travel, that sounds like a  fun way to “cruise” around many books. I think it will give me a chance to open many of the books that lay languidly on my bookshelves while fitting my short attention span.

Here’s the exercise in case you might want to give it a try. I’ll try to post the books I cross in my literary journey along with quotes of the countries mentioned. It should be an interesting experiment in blogging as well.

24. Literary Journey

Hypothesis

Travel around the world via a bookshelf.

Apparatus

You will need a bookshelf containing books, plus a pen and paper to keep track of your journey.

Method

Choose a book from the bookshelf and commence reading. Continue reading until a foreign country is mentioned in the text. Then choose a second book that’s somehow related to that country and begin reading again. Repeat until you have either returned to your point of origin or have completed one circumnavigation of the globe.

SourceThe Lonely Planet Guide to Experimental Travel, Ed. Lonely Planet, 2005. http://www.lonelyplanet.com/experimentaltravel/

Leave a Reply

