Hoy ten miedo de mí – Today be afraid of me

This is a lovely song by Fernando Delgadillo. I translated into English, hope I made it some justice. The link to the Youtube post is at the bottom of the post

HOY QUE LLEVO EN LA BOCA Today that I have in my mouth
EL SABOR A VENCIDO the taste of defeat,
PROCURA TENER A LA MANO try to have within reach
A UN AMIGO QUE CUIDE a friend to take care
TU FRENTE Y TU VOZ of your forehead and your voice,
Y QUE CUIDE DE TI, and who’d take care of you,
PARA TI Y TUS VESTIDOS of you and your clothes.
Y A TUS PENSAMIENTOS And your thoughts
MANTENLOS ATENTOS keep them alert
Y A MANO A TU AMIGO and your friend within reach.
LA IMPORTANCIA DE VERTE The importance of seeing you
MORDERTE LOS LABIOS and seeing you
DE PREOCUPACION worried biting your lips,
ES HOY TAN NECESARIA it’s so important today
COMO VERTE SIEMPRE as it’s seeing you always
COMO ANDAR SIGUIENDOTE As it’s following you
CON LA CABEZA in my mind,
EN LA IMAGINACION in my thoughts.
PORQUE SABES, Because you know,
Y SI NO LO SABES, and if you don’t know,
NO IMPORTA, it doesn’t matter
YO SE LO QUE SIENTO I know what I feel,
YO SE LO QUE CORTAN I know how they cut
DESPUES UNOS LABIOS afterwards some lips
ESOS LABIOS ROJOS Y AFILADOS Those lips, red and sharp,
Y ESTOS PUÑOS and these fists
QUE TIEMBLAN DE RABIA that tremble with rage
CUANDO ESTAS CONTENTA when you’re happy,
QUE TIEMBLAN DE MUERTE that tremble with fear
SI ALGUIEN SE TE ACERCARA if someone to you
A TI. comes near.
HOY PROCURA Today take care
QUE AQUELLA VENTANA that the window
QUE MIRA A LA CALLE that oversees the street
EN TU CUARTO from your room
SE TENGA CERRADA it’s closed
PORQUE NO VAYA A SER lest I might not be
YO EL VIENTO DE LA NOCHE the wind of the night
Y TE MIDA and that I’d measure you
Y RECORRA LA PIEL and run over your skin
CON MI ALIENTO with my breath
Y HASTA and that I’d even
TE ACARICIE caress you
Y TE DEJE DORMIR and let you sleep
Y ME META EN TU PECHO and that I get inside your chest
Y ME VUELVA A SALIR and get out again
Y RESPIRES DE MI… and you breathe me…
O ME VUELVA UNA ESTRELLA Or that I turn into a star
Y TE ESTRECHE and that I hold you tight
EN MIS RAYOS in my rays
Y TODO and all
POR NO HACERME because you didn’t
UN POCO DE CASO. pay attention to me.
TEN MIEDO DE MAYO Be afraid of May
Y TEN MIEDO DE MI and be afraid of me
PORQUE NO VAYA A SER lest it not might be
QUE CANSADO DE VERTE that tired of seeing you
ME META EN TUS BRAZOS I get in your arms
PARA POSEERTE to make you mine
Y TE ARRANQUE and tear off
LAS ROPAS your clothes
Y TE BESE LOS PIES and kiss your feet
Y TE LLAME MI DIOSA and call you my goddess
Y NO PUEDA MIRARTE and that I cannot see you
DE FRENTE to the face
Y TE DIGA and that I tell you,
LLORANDO DESPUES: Weeping, later on:
POR FAVOR TENME MIEDO Please be afraid of me,
TIEMBLA MUCHO DE MIEDO MUJER tremble with fear woman
PORQUE NO PUEDE SER….. Because it cannot be…
Leave a Reply

