Memories from South Korea – Introduction

Some days ago I came back from a trip to South Korea, in total about a little more than four weeks; the first part of the travel was for business and the second for pleasure. I’m not very good at telling stories of my travels. When people ask me to tell them about them my mind usually goes blank, I guess part of the problem is that I don’t see much point of telling what I’ve done, most of the time, but that’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the trip or lived many experiences, but somehow it’s difficult for me to translate impressions and memories into a personal narrative. A similar story goes for the photographs I take during my trips. I usually take photos of graffiti, or odd objects I found fallen on the ground, or torn posters, of shadows forming lines, or power lines and light poles. Even I have to admit those images don’t make for great slideshows, neither travel albums.

And yet, I have many wonderful memories from my travel to South Korea. I loved my time there. I loved the people and I loved the places I visited. I learned a lot about Korea and wish I could learn more about the country, the language and their people. So, I’ll try to write some of my memories from my travel to Korea here, maybe someone else will find them interesting, while I get to extend a little bit of the joy I feel for having been fortunate enough to get to know such a fascinating country.

South Korea flag graffitti saw in Myeongdong, Seoul.

South Korea flag graffitti saw in Myeongdong, Seoul.

Leave a Reply

